Linda Wood Rondeau

Snark & Sensibility

HANG ON EVERY WORD/A REVIEW
Monday, August 15, 2022 by Linda Wood Rondeau

HANG ON EVERY WORD

Cozy Mysteries for Puzzle Lovers (Wordplay Mysteries Book 4) 

BY JULIE B. COSGROVE

A REVIEW


Publisher ‏ : ‎ Pursued Books: an imprint of Write Integrity Press, LLC (August 26, 2022)
Publication date ‏ : ‎ August 26, 2022
Print length ‏ : ‎ 229 pages

STORY BEHIND THE STORY

My Scrabble friend came up with the idea for this series, combining my two pastime loves?mysteries and word games. Thus, the Wordplay Mysteries were born! All of the novels in the Wordplay Mysteries have “word” in the title and involve a word puzzle or game, but the well-known phrase is also a clue to the crime. The first three are Word Has It, Word Gets Around, and In Other Words.

So, this time, Hang on Every Word is a double entendre of sorts. It references the Hangman puzzle Wanda Warner is asked to provide for the local newspaper, a secret desire of hers God has seemingly brought to fruition. But it also hints at how dependent we tend to be on flattery and the opinion of others, which is one of Wanda’s faults … as well as another character’s fault in the book, as the reader will discover. When we look to others to fill our need for self-esteem instead of embracing the uniqueness God loves in each of us, we can let jealousy and pride seep into our actions.

MORE ABOUT HANG ON EVERY WORD

It can't be happening again!

Wanda Warner is delighted to design the wordplay puzzles in The Oakmont Gazette. But when the clues to her Hangman puzzle are used to coordinate robberies, some people in tiny Scrub Oak, Texas wonder if she's masterminding the thefts so she can "solve" them in order to bask in more glory.

Then her own nephew, one of the town's cops, hauls her into the police station as her neighbors look on. The totally embarrassed Wanda is determined to crack this treacherous word puzzle crime spree but can she do it before her fellow citizens hold a lynch party?

Enjoy this stand-alone, Christian cozy mystery - book four in the Wordplay Mysteries.

Note: It releases on August 26th but is on preorder. Julie, like her character Wanda, has a hard time with patiently waiting so she has a special offer to pass along. Everyone who preorders this week will get one or more of the first 8 chapters in their email FREE, once a week every Friday until launch day. Simply send her your Amazon confirmation code via her website’s contact page: https://www.juliebcosgrove.com/contact

BUY LINK

ABOUT JULIE B. COSGROVE

Even before Julie B Cosgrove became a multi-published, award-winning novelist, she’d developed a passion for words at a young age. She solved the word games in the daily newspapers. She and her mother shared many fun hours playing Scrabble. Then, another passion developed? whodunnits. She loved the Charlie Chan, Sherlock Holmes, and Hercule Perot movies that played on Saturday afternoons on TV. Nancy Drew and the romantic mystery novels of the late Mary Stewart kept her eyes dancing over the pages through her school years. Now, she has mysteries stacked up on her watchlist on Britbox and a long list of cozies on her to-be-read list.

Later in her adult life, her passion for Christ spurred her to write faith-based fiction and devotionals for several publications, which she has been doing since 2009. Her blog, Where Did You Find God Today?  now has readers in over fifty countries.

But her writing passion remains in the mystery genre, the cozier the better. One day her sister asked, “Why don’t you write them?” Cosgrove pondered it and decided to give it a go. Her first, Dumpster Dicing, won Best Mystery by the Texas Association of Authors in 2017. Since then, she has been contracted to write a total of sixteen more mysteries, ten of which have been published as of early 2022. She has three series?The Bunco Biddies Mysteries, The Relatively Seeking Mysteries, and the Wordplay Mysteries.

You can find previews of all of her fiction and nonfiction books as well as her blog's link on her website, www.juliebcosgrove.com.

MY REVIEW *****

This was a fun read and well-written. The story held my interest throughout. As a senior citizen myself, I could relate well to Wanda and her friends. Kind-hearted and a woman of deep faith, she struggles with aging dilemmas as well as the situations her curiosity gets her into. I particularly found the small town of interest, how our country’s changing mores have caused changes in the way we view our community. 

I recommend this book for both its entertainment value and its example of faith in action. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share This Blog:


Previous Posts

MATTHEW HENRY DAILY DEVOTIONAL BIBLE/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
12/6/2022

HOW TO WRITE YOUR BOOK FAST
Linda Wood Rondeau
11/18/2022

ESCAPE FROM AMSTERDAM/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/25/2022

THE NAZARENE'S PRICE/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/21/2022

SAY GRACE: A SCRIPTURAL FIELD GUIDE FOR WEIGHT LOSS/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/18/2022

RAISING KIDS FOR TOMORROW'S WORLD
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/11/2022

PRAISE THE LORD AND PASS THE PROZAC/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/20/2022

HIS GIFT/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/9/2022

Christmas Tree Wars
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/2/2022

HANG ON EVERY WORD/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
8/15/2022

YOU WON'T KNOW HOW OR WHEN/ A BOOK REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
8/5/2022

PROTECTED: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
7/16/2022

A REVIEW OF BENT TREE BRIDE
Linda Wood Rondeau
7/11/2022

THE SYCAMORE STANDOFF/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
6/24/2022

CAST OUT/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
6/10/2022

A REVIEW OF THOUGH THE MOUNTAINS BE SHAKEN
Linda Wood Rondeau
6/3/2022

CLEANSED BY FIRE/A FATHER FRANK MYSTERY
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/27/2022

DONKEY DEVOS: A BOOK REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/24/2022

THE DARK GUEST: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/20/2022

AUNT IMA AMAZING
MICHELE MCCARTHY
5/10/2022

Journal the Word for Girls: My Review
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/10/2022

FLYING INTO LOVE: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/6/2022

Collapse: Death of Friendship
Angela Shelton
4/29/2022

PRODIGAL LIVES
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/15/2022

Madness in Wonderland
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/12/2022

ELIZA'S HOPE
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/8/2022

DEFENDING DAVID/ A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/5/2022

NOTHING IS EASY/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/1/2022

Unleash Your God-Given Healing: Eight Steps to Prevent and Survive Cancer
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/22/2022

Sweet Rivalry
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/18/2022

Sweet Cranberries
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/11/2022

REFLECTIONS ON THE NAME OF GOD: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/8/2022

PROTECTING HER WITNESS
A Review by Linda Wood Rondeau
2/18/2022

Love Under Construction
A Review by Linda Wood Rondeau
2/11/2022

52 WEEKLY DEVOTIONS FOR FAMILY PRAYER
A Review by Linda Wood Rondeau
2/8/2022

A Heart for the Sailor
Linda Wood Rondeau
1/28/2022

ALL THAT IS HIDDEN
Linda Wood Rondeau
1/21/2022

A NEW FICTION FRIDAY FORMAT/REVIEW OF DANGEROUS PURSUITS
Linda Wood Rondeau
1/7/2022

WHY WRITE SUSPENSE?
CAROLE BROWN
11/10/2021

WHERE DO WRITERS GET THOSE MARVELOUS IDEAS?
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/21/2021

WONDERS OF THE GALAXY: A COLLECTION OF COSMIC TALES
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/9/2021

THE ADVENTURE BIBLE FOR KIDS
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/7/2021

101 QUIPS AND QUOTES
ADA ADELEKE-KELANI
8/24/2021

MAD LIB FUN: A FORMAT FOR BOOK REVIEWS
HEIDI GRAY MCGILL
8/17/2021

A STUDY OF GREY’S ANATOMY
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
7/6/2021

THE BUTTERFLY BLUEPRINT
STEPHANIE MILLER
4/27/2021

THE RELUCTANT BILLIONAIRE
CAROL UNDERHILL
4/13/2021

NIV BEAUTIFUL WORD COLORING BIBLE FOR GIRLS GIFT SET
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
2/7/2021

A REVIEW OF NIV FULLY REVISED BIBLE STUDY
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
10/5/2020

NRSV Simple Faith Bible
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
8/31/2020

BIBLE GATEWAY'S NEW WEBSITE LOOK
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
8/3/2020

Bible Gateway's Bible Audio App
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
5/21/2020

ARTISAN COLLECTION BIBLE FOR GIRLS
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
3/25/2020

MY REVIEW OF THE JESUS BIBLE ARTIST EDITION
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
2/10/2020

THE PUTTING GREEN WHISPERER
ZOE MCCARTHY
9/14/2018