Linda Wood Rondeau

Snark & Sensibility

A REVIEW OF THOUGH THE MOUNTAINS BE SHAKEN
Friday, June 3, 2022 by Linda Wood Rondeau

 

FICTION FRIDAY

A REVIEW OF 

THOUGH THE MOUNTAINS BE SHAKEN

BY KATHLEEN NEELY 

Publisher ‏ : ‎ Deca Books, LLC (April 18, 2022)
Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 18, 2022
Print length ‏ : ‎ 287 pages

THE STORY BEHIND THE STORY       

I’ve wanted to write this story for some time. I live with Parkinson’s and wanted to write a character who has this very prevalent disease. By weaving it into a story, I hope to bring a new awareness of PD in a manner that readers will enjoy. My challenge as a writer was to achieve a satisfying ending without diminishing the seriousness of this disease. I believe that I accomplished that. I also desired to show that God’s grace is present in our afflictions.  He said, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.2 Cor. 12:9.

I hope you enjoy this story.

ABOUT THOUGH THE MOUNTAINS BE SHAKEN

Kate Dunbar puts 100% into everything she does—a career as a literary agent, a mom of preschool twins, and the wife of Ryan Dunbar, a criminal defense attorney. She appears to have a perfect life until it begins to crumble piece by piece—her marriage, her health, and her job.

Kate blames emotional stress for her fatigue, stiffness, and tremors. As symptoms begin to increase, Kate finds herself unable to control her body’s erratic movements. At the same time that she and Ryan separate, she receives a diagnosis of Parkinson’s. Determined not to tell her estranged husband of her diagnosis, Kate faces an unknown future and the possibility that she’ll face it as a single mother.

More upheavals await as glimmers of hope for a restored marriage begin to surface. A case that Ryan is defending endangers his family and his career.

Kate and Ryan both harbor secrets that threaten their marriage. Can they mend their broken family? How will Parkinson’s affect their future? For better or worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, forsaking all others. Every vow they spoke eight years ago is being tested. Can they survive the storm?

BUY LINK 

ABOUT KATHLEEN NEELY

Kathleen Neely is a retired elementary principal, and enjoys time with family, visiting her two grandsons, traveling, and reading.

She is the author of The Street Singer, Beauty for Ashes, The Least of These, Arms of Freedom, and In Search of True North. Kathleen won second place in a short story contest through ACFW-VA for her short story “The Missing Piece” and an honorable mention for her story “The Dance”. Both were published in a Christmas anthology. Her novel, The Least of These, was awarded first place in the 2015 Fresh Voices contest through Almost an Author. She has numerous devotions published through Christian Devotions.

Kathleen continues to speak to students about writing and publication processes. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers.

Website – www.KathleenNeely.com

Facebook – www.facebook.com/kathy.neely.98

Twitter - https://twitter.com/NeelyKneely3628

Instagram – www.Instagram.com/KathleenNeelyAuthor

Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14602744.Kathleen_Neely

BookBub -- https://www.bookbub.com/profile/kathleen-neely

MY REVIEW *****

Kate Dunbar is a Type-A personality and this has caused difficulties in her marriage. Though her husband loves her, her caustic tongue and take-charge personality have begun to erode their marriage. She returns from a conference to find her husband has left, taken the children … though only temporary … and set up separate living, even hiring a nanny. Then she is diagnosed with Parkinson’s. How much should she tell her husband? Though he claims he wants to work through their difficulties and “fix” their marriage, Kate distrusts him. Is there another woman involved? She cannot seem to confess her diagnosis. However, the shakeup of her marriage forces her to look inside herself and her faith. 

In the beginning, we do see a self-centered view of Kate, a bit of a whiner as life isn’t going the way she wants and her ambition to publish continues to be unrealized. As the story continues, we see Kate’s sensitivity and desire for healing in her marriage to evolve. 

I struggled with rating this book. I rarely denote a five-star review for novels, as I reserve that rating for exceptional books. Though the characters were well developed and the writing was excellent, I wanted to see more spiritual conflict. Most Christians, when hit with a significant diagnosis or life-altering circumstance, tend to dig deep into their faith. Other than a mention they were Christians and attended church, I did not see a significant spiritual arc. Kate did note an acceptance toward the end realizing God can fix the broken pieces and her hope God would do just that for her marriage. 

I ultimately decided to rate the book high because of the literary excellence of the work. Neely's understanding of Parkinson’s was well handled, perhaps from her own personal experience with the disease. I also thought her treatment of the courtroom scenes was realistic and well done. 

I recommend this book. I was provided a copy for my honest opinion. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share This Blog:


Previous Posts

HOW TO WRITE YOUR BOOK FAST
Linda Wood Rondeau
11/18/2022

ESCAPE FROM AMSTERDAM/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/25/2022

THE NAZARENE'S PRICE/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/21/2022

SAY GRACE: A SCRIPTURAL FIELD GUIDE FOR WEIGHT LOSS/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/18/2022

RAISING KIDS FOR TOMORROW'S WORLD
Linda Wood Rondeau
10/11/2022

PRAISE THE LORD AND PASS THE PROZAC/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/20/2022

HIS GIFT/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/9/2022

Christmas Tree Wars
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/2/2022

HANG ON EVERY WORD/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
8/15/2022

YOU WON'T KNOW HOW OR WHEN/ A BOOK REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
8/5/2022

PROTECTED: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
7/16/2022

A REVIEW OF BENT TREE BRIDE
Linda Wood Rondeau
7/11/2022

THE SYCAMORE STANDOFF/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
6/24/2022

CAST OUT/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
6/10/2022

A REVIEW OF THOUGH THE MOUNTAINS BE SHAKEN
Linda Wood Rondeau
6/3/2022

CLEANSED BY FIRE/A FATHER FRANK MYSTERY
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/27/2022

DONKEY DEVOS: A BOOK REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/24/2022

THE DARK GUEST: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/20/2022

AUNT IMA AMAZING
MICHELE MCCARTHY
5/10/2022

Journal the Word for Girls: My Review
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/10/2022

FLYING INTO LOVE: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
5/6/2022

Collapse: Death of Friendship
Angela Shelton
4/29/2022

PRODIGAL LIVES
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/15/2022

Madness in Wonderland
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/12/2022

ELIZA'S HOPE
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/8/2022

DEFENDING DAVID/ A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/5/2022

NOTHING IS EASY/A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
4/1/2022

Unleash Your God-Given Healing: Eight Steps to Prevent and Survive Cancer
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/22/2022

Sweet Rivalry
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/18/2022

Sweet Cranberries
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/11/2022

REFLECTIONS ON THE NAME OF GOD: A REVIEW
Linda Wood Rondeau
3/8/2022

PROTECTING HER WITNESS
A Review by Linda Wood Rondeau
2/18/2022

Love Under Construction
A Review by Linda Wood Rondeau
2/11/2022

52 WEEKLY DEVOTIONS FOR FAMILY PRAYER
A Review by Linda Wood Rondeau
2/8/2022

A Heart for the Sailor
Linda Wood Rondeau
1/28/2022

ALL THAT IS HIDDEN
Linda Wood Rondeau
1/21/2022

A NEW FICTION FRIDAY FORMAT/REVIEW OF DANGEROUS PURSUITS
Linda Wood Rondeau
1/7/2022

WHY WRITE SUSPENSE?
CAROLE BROWN
11/10/2021

WHERE DO WRITERS GET THOSE MARVELOUS IDEAS?
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/21/2021

WONDERS OF THE GALAXY: A COLLECTION OF COSMIC TALES
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/9/2021

THE ADVENTURE BIBLE FOR KIDS
Linda Wood Rondeau
9/7/2021

101 QUIPS AND QUOTES
ADA ADELEKE-KELANI
8/24/2021

MAD LIB FUN: A FORMAT FOR BOOK REVIEWS
HEIDI GRAY MCGILL
8/17/2021

A STUDY OF GREY’S ANATOMY
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
7/6/2021

THE BUTTERFLY BLUEPRINT
STEPHANIE MILLER
4/27/2021

THE RELUCTANT BILLIONAIRE
CAROL UNDERHILL
4/13/2021

NIV BEAUTIFUL WORD COLORING BIBLE FOR GIRLS GIFT SET
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
2/7/2021

A REVIEW OF NIV FULLY REVISED BIBLE STUDY
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
10/5/2020

NRSV Simple Faith Bible
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
8/31/2020

BIBLE GATEWAY'S NEW WEBSITE LOOK
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
8/3/2020

Bible Gateway's Bible Audio App
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
5/21/2020

ARTISAN COLLECTION BIBLE FOR GIRLS
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
3/25/2020

MY REVIEW OF THE JESUS BIBLE ARTIST EDITION
LINDA WOOD RONDEAU
2/10/2020

THE PUTTING GREEN WHISPERER
ZOE MCCARTHY
9/14/2018